Friday, 5 April 2013

Nobel prize winners from India

Rabindra Nath TagoreC. V. RamanHar Govind KhuranaMother TeresaAmartya SenR. K. Pachuri
Rabindra Nath TagoreC. V. RamanHar Govind KhuranaMother TeresaAmartya SenR. K. Pachuri
1913 in Literature1930 in Physics1968 for Medicine1979 for Peace1998 forEconomics2007 for Peace

Nobel Prize Winner - 2012

Winner's NameFieldCountryWork
Serge Haroche and David J. WinelandPhysicsFrance, USAFor ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems.
Mo YanLiteratureChinaMo Yan "who with hallucinatory realism merges folk tales, history and the contemporary".
Robert J. Lefkowitz and Brian K. KobilkaChemistryBoth are from USAFor studies of G-protein-coupled receptors
Sir John B. Gurdon and Shinya YamanakaMedicineUK, JapanFor the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent.
Nobel Peace Prize 2012PeaceEuropeThe Nobel Peace Prize 2012 was awarded to European Union EU) "for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe".
Alvin E. Roth and Lloyd S. ShapleyEconomicsBoth are from USAFor the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design.

Nobel Prize Winner - 2011

Winner's NameFieldCountryWork
Saul Perlmutter
Brian P. Schmidt
Adam G. Riess
For the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe through observations of distant supernovae.
Dan ShechtmanChemistryIsraelFor the discovery of quasicrystals.
Bruce A. Beutler
Jules A. Hoffmann
Ralph M. Steinman
For their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity" and the other half to Ralph M. Steinman "for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity.
Tomas TranströmerLiteratureSwedenBecause, through his condensed, translucent images, he gives us fresh access to reality.
Thomas J. Sargent
Christopher A. Sims
For their empirical research on cause and effect in the macroeconomy.
Ellen Johnson Sirleaf
Leymah Gbowee
Tawakkul Karman
For their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work.

Nobel Prize Winner - 2010

Winner's NameFieldCountryWork
Konstantin Novoselov
Andre Geim
PhysicsRussiaFor groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene.
Liu XiaoboPeaceChinaThe Nobel Peace Prize 2010 was awarded to Liu Xiaobo "for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China".
Mario Vargas LlosaLiteraturePeruFor his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat.
Robert G. EdwardsMedicineUKFor the development of in vitro fertilization.
Richard F. Heck
Ei-ichi Negishi
Akira Suzuki
For palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis.
Peter A. Diamond
Dale T. Mortensen
Christopher A. Pissarides
For their analysis of markets with search frictions.

Nobel Prize Winner - 2009

Winner's NameFieldCountryWork
Elizabeth Blackburn
Carol Greider
Jack Szostak
MedicineUSAFor the discovery of how chromosomes are protected by telomeres and the enzyme telomerase.
Charles K. Kao
Willard S. Boyle
George E. Smith
PhysicsUSAFor groundbreaking achievements concerning the transmission of light in fibers for optical communication. And the invention of an imaging semiconductor circuit – the CCD sensor.
V. Ramakrishnan
Thomas A. Steitz
Ada E. Yonath
For studies of the structure and function of the ribosome
Barack ObamaPeaceUSAFor his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples.
Herta MüllerLiteratureGermanyFor the concentration of poetry and the frankness of prose, depicts the landscape of the dispossessed.
Elinor Ostrom
Oliver E. Williamson
EconomicsUSAFor her analysis of economic governance, especially the commons.
For his analysis of economic governance, especially the boundaries of the firm.

No comments:

Post a Comment